UCLA Mathnet Login

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected mathematics Professor Sorin Popa, along with 4 other UCLA faculty, into the 2013 li

Sorin Popa

Terence Tao, a professor of mathematics who holds the James and Carol Collins Chair in the UCLA College of Letters and Science, will be awarded the inaugural Joseph Lieberman Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics from the Center for Excellence in Education (CEE), at its annual Congressional luncheon April 24 in Washington, D.C.

Terence Tao

UCLA Mathematics Professor Alexander Merkurjev has been named a Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation for 2013 for his

Alexander Merkurjev

UCLA's team placed 3rd out of 402 institutional teams in the 2012 William Lowell Putnam Mathematics Competition, surpassing last year's 12th place, and tied with its best-ever performance from 1968. The team was composed of UCLA undergraduates Xiangyi Huang, Tudor Padurariu, and Dillon Zhi, and was coached by UCLA Mathematics Professor Ciprian Manolescu.

NBC Learn, in partnership with the National Science Foundation, launched their latest set of stories in their series Science Behind the N