UCLA Mathnet Login


Topological research at UCLA began with the arrival of Robert Sorgenfrey in 1942, soon after he earned a Ph. D. at the University of Texas under the legendary topologist R. L. Moore. High points in the research accomplishments of topologists at UCLA include the solution by Robion Kirby, who was at UCLA from 1965 to 1971, (with Laurence Siebenmann) of four of the seven problems listed by John Milnor in 1963 as the most important in topology at that time. Kirby first presented his famous "torus trick", the key to the solutions, in a UCLA seminar in the summer of 1968. Another of the Milnor problems, the Double Suspension Conjecture was solved by Robert Edwards, who came to UCLA in 1970 and remained here until his retirement in 2006. The accomplishments of Allan Hatcher, who was at UCLA from 1976 until 1984, include the proof of the Smale Conjecture (published in 1983).

More than 70 students, supervised by twelve advisors, have received Ph. D. degrees from UCLA for dissertations on topological subjects. 


We run a weekly in-house Topology Seminar, on Wednesdays and/or Fridays at 3pm. We typically choose a topic each quarter, and the group members take turns in giving lectures about that subject. Recent topics have included: the Casson invariant; Khovanov homology; Khovanov-Rozansky homology; combinatorial Heegaard Floer homology via grid diagrams; rational homotopy theory; intersection cohomology; Reshetikhin-Turaev-Witten invariants.

In addition, we have a monthly Joint UCLA / USC / Caltech Topology Seminar, where we invite outside speakers to talk about current research developments.

Faculty Postdocs

Graduate Students

Regular Visitors

Robert Brown

Robert Edwards (Emeritus)

Michael Hill 

Ko Honda

Ciprian Manolescu

Sucharit Sarkar

Michael Andrews

James Cameron

Sherry Gong

Andrew Manion

Marco Marengon

Clover May 

Aaron Royer

Jonathan Rubin

Michael Willis


David Boozer

Christian Carrick

Austin Christian

Haofei Fan

Alexander Fredrick

Jiayin Guo

Robert Housden

Ikshu Neithalath

Sangjin Lee

Michael Miller

Bar Roytman

Andrew Smith


Ian Ferris

Dan Gottlieb

Kevin Iga

Phil Martens

For more information about the Topology group, please consult their website.