UCLA Mathnet Login

Terence Tao Receives Inaugural Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

UCLA's Terence Tao

UCLA Mathematics Professor, Terence Tao, is one of five recipients of the Inaugural Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics. The Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics was launched by Mark Zuckerberg and Yuri Milner at the Breakthrough Prize ceremony last December (2013). It aims to recognize major advances in the field, honor the world’s best mathematicians, support their future endeavors and communicate the excitement of mathematics to general public. The laureates will be presented with their trophies and $3 million each at the Breakthrough Prize ceremony in November. All five recipients of the Prize have agreed to serve on the Selection Committee, responsible for choosing subsequent winners of the prize from the pool of contenders nominated by the mathematics community. From 2015 onwards, one Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics will be awarded every year.

Mark Zuckerberg said: “Mathematics is essential for driving human progress and innovation in this century. This year’s Breakthrough Prize winners have made huge contributions to the field and we’re excited to celebrate their efforts.” Yuri Milner commented: “Mathematics is the most fundamental of the sciences – the language they are all written in. The best mathematical minds benefit us all by expanding the sphere of human knowledge.”


To learn more about the prize visit: