UCLA Mathnet Login

Ostrowski Prize Awarded to Sorin Popa

Sorin Popa

UCLA Mathematics professor and chair Sorin Popa was awarded the 2009 Ostrowski Prize for his striking work in von Neumann algebras and orbit equivalence ergodic theory. Since 1989, the prize has been awarded every two years for outstanding recent achievements in pure mathematics and the theoretical foundations of numerical analysis by an international jury from the universities of Basel, Jerusalem, Waterloo and the academies of Denmark and the Netherlands. UCLA Math professor Terence Tao received the award in 2005.

Click Here for AMS citation and additional information...