UCLA Mathnet Login

2018 Karp Prize to be Awarded at the 2018 North American Annual Meeting

(Pictured above is UCLA Math Professor Matthias Aschenbrenner)

The ninth Carol Karp Prize is to be jointly awarded to Matthias Aschenbrenner, Lou van den Dries, and Joris van der Hoeven for their work in model theory, especially on asymptotic differential algebra and the model theory of transseries. The prize will be awarded at the ASL North American Annual Meeting in May. The Karp Prize, established in 1973 in memory of Professor Carol Karp, is awarded every five years. The award is made by the Association, on the recommendation of the ASL Committee on Prizes and Awards, for a "connected body of research, most of which has been completed in the time since the previous prize was awarded.'' The winners will share a $5,000 cash award. A Lecture on the prize-winning work will be delivered at the award ceremony.

Read here for more info: https://www.aslonline.org/Karp_recipients.html