Summer 2016 Schedule

All students are expected to work full time on research. The list below are additional organized activities. The MATLAB tutorials should be attended by those who need to learn the material. The GRE prep should be attended by those who are interested to apply to PhD programs in Mathematics. The other meetings are required for all participants.


June 13, Monday, 9am Orientation Session, Mathematical Sciences 6627

June 13, Monday, 12 noon group luncheon, graduate lounge MS 6620

June 14, Tuesday 10:30am-12pm MATLAB basics, useful functions, packages (Mike Lindstrom), 6627 Math Sciences

June 16, Thursday 10:30am-12pm Intro to Python (Matt Haberland), 6627 Math Sciences

June 17, Friday 2-3pm LaTeX tutorial, Michelle Feng, Room 6627

June 21, Tuesday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

June 23, Thursday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci. 6627

June 24, Friday Annotated Bibliography Due

June 28, Tuesday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math. Sci. 6627

June 30, Thursday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

July 4, Monday Holiday Independence Day - building is closed

July 5, Tuesday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

July 7, Thursday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

July 8, Friday 9-12pm Midterm Presentations Math Sci. 6627 followed by Lunch (grad lounge MS 6620)

July 8, 2-3pm LaTeX tutorial, Mike Lindstrom, Math. Sci. 6627

July 12, Tuesday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

July 14, Thursday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

Week of July 18, Date TBD 3-5pm Grad School Information Session, IPAM main seminar room

July 19, Tuesday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

July 21, Thursday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

July 26, Tuesday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

July 28, Thursday 10:30am-12pm GRE Math Subject Prep, Math Sci 6627

Aug 1, Monday all day Final Presentations, Location TBD, 9am to 4pm

Aug. 5, 12-1 luncheon and awards ceremony, Math graduate lounge MS 6620; Final Report Due by 3pm

Here is a link to the detailed syllabus for the Math GRE prep course.

Mohammed Zuhair is in charge of the GRE Math prep course.