Research Mentors Summer 2012

Senior Faculty Oversight

  • Prof. Andrea Bertozzi, UCLA, Overall Program, contagion, microscopy, fluids, crime, networks
  • Prof. Maria-Grazia Ascenzi, UCLA Orthopaedics
  • Prof. P. Jeffrey Brantingham, UCLA Anthropology, Crime models and networks
  • Prof. Jen-Mei Chang, California State Univ. Long Beach
  • Prof. Theodore Kolokolnikov, Dalhousie Univ. Halifax Canada
  • Prof. Tim Lucas, Pepperdine University
  • Prof. Stanley Osher, UCLA Mathematics, Image Processing and Sports Rankings
  • Prof. Marcus Roper, UCLA Mathematics, biological modeling
  • Prof. Paul Weiss, Director California NanoSystems Institute, microscopy

    2012 Projects and Topics

  • Structure and dynamics on social networks
  • Video tracking of airborne toxins
  • Plant ecology after wildfires
  • Experiments and models of spiral concentrators for particle slurries
  • Methods for sports rankings
  • Contagion Modeling
  • Organization of growth plates of bones and of articular cartilage
  • Microscopy and image processing
  • Fungal spore dispersal
  • Crime Modeling
  • Analysis of Dynamical Systems

    Project Mentors and Assistants 2012

  • Dr. Christoph Brune, CAM Postdoc, Microscopy
  • Prof. Jen-Mei Chang, Asst. Prof. CSU Long Beach, Image Processing
  • Prof. Emilie Dressaire, Asst. Prof. Trinity College, CT, Fungal Spore Dispersal
  • Dr. Cymra Haskell, Lecturer USC, Analysis of Dynamical Systems
  • Dr. Blake Hunter, PIC Instructor UCLA, Social Networks
  • Prof. Theodore Kolokolnikov, Assoc. Prof. Dalhousie Univ. Canada
  • Dr. Sungyon Lee, Adj. Asst. Prof, Fluid Dynamics
  • Prof. Tim Lucas, Asst. Prof. Pepperdine, Plant Ecology
  • Dr. Aliki Mavromoustaki, CAM Postdoc, Fluid Dynamics
  • Dr. Scott McCalla, Asst. Adj. Prof. Crime Modeling
  • Ekaterina Murkerjev, PhD student UCLA, Tracking Airborne Toxins
  • Dr. Braxton Osting, NSF Postdoc, Sports Rankings
  • Dr. Jesus Rosado, CAM Postdoc, Contagion
  • Hayden Schaeffer, Doctoral Candidate, Bone growth plates
  • Dr. Yves van Gennip, Adj. Ass. Prof., Social Networks

    Project Participants 2012

    Contagion Modeling

  • Royston, Michael, UCLA, Michael@royston.com
  • Chen, Yuxin, Dalhousie University, yuxinchen0612@gmail.com
  • Totari, Emad, UC Riverside, etota001@ucr.edu
  • Mackey, Alan (PhD student), UCLA

    Crime Modeling

  • Breslau, Jonah Sherr, Pomona College, jonah.breslau@gmail.com
  • Yazdi, Daniel, UCLA, danielyazdi@ucla.edu
  • Chaturapruek, Sorathan "Tum", Harvey Mudd College, tummykung@gmail.com

    Analysis of Dynamical Systems

  • Dong, Kun, UCLA, dongkun_29@hotmail.com
  • Odom, Lucy Hanh, CSU Fullerton, lucyodom@csu.fullerton.edu
  • Gu, Binan, USC, binangu900926@gmail.com
  • Sarkar, Aparna, Pomona College, as072010@mymail.pomona.edu

    Particle Slurries

  • Allison, Kali Lynn, Harvey Mudd College, kallison@g.hmc.edu
  • Meguerdijian, Saro, USC, saromeg@hotmail.com
  • Rosenthal, Wylie, Harvey Mudd College, wrosenthal@hmc.edu
  • Urdaneta, Gilberto Jose, UCLA, gurdaneta@ucla.edu
  • Crawford, Thomas, Oxford University, thomas.crawford@sjc.ox.ac.uk

    Fungal Spores

  • Caldwell, Trevor, Harvey Mudd College, tcaldwell@hmc.edu
  • Grogan, Francesca, UCLA, fcgrogan@yahoo.com
  • Bowers, Devin James, Harvey Mudd College, dbowers@g.hmc.edu

    Plant Ecology

  • Jiang, Wancen, Pepperdine, wancen.jiang@pepperdine.edu
  • Seubert, Cassandra, USC, scyphers@usc.edu
  • Webster, Noah, Pepperdine, nwebstar@gmail.com
  • Willens, Charlotte, Pomona College, chw02009@mymail.pomona.edu

    Social Networks

  • de Vera, Ryan, CSU Long Beach, ryan.devera.03@att.net
  • Ma, Anna, UCLA, anna.ma@ucla.edu
  • Moyer, Daniel, UCLA, dcmoyer@gmail.com
  • Schneiderman, Brendan, Pomona College, bschneid@gmail.com
  • Huiyi Hu, UCLA (PhD student)

    Sports Rankings

  • Barrow, Daniel Michael, Pitzer College, daniel_barrow13@pitzer.edu
  • Drayer, Ian Spencer, UCLA, idrayer@ucla.edu
  • Elliott, Peter, UCLA, pelliott14@ucla.edu
  • Gaut, Garren, UCLA, ggaut@ucla.edu

    Airborne Toxins

  • Sunu, Justin, CSU Long Beach, justinsunu@gmail.com
  • Gerhart, Torin, CSU Long Beach, toringerhart@gmail.com
  • Lieu, Lauren, Harvey Mudd College, llieu@g.hmc.edu

    Microscopy

  • Lim, Tawny, UCLA, tlim90@ucla.edu
  • Huynh, Nen, CSU Long Beach, darkshifter16@gmail.com
  • Siegel, Jonathan W., UC Santa Cruz, jwsiegel@ucsc.edu

    Bone Modeling

  • Gross, Ben, Harvey Mudd College, bgross09@yahoo.com
  • Beylerian, Emily, UCLA, emily.beylerian@gmail.com
  • de Silva, Brian, UCLA, briandesilva1@gmail.com
  • Kastein, Hannah, Harvey Mudd College, hannah_kastein@hmc.edu

    Students who have gone on to graduate school

  • Kali Allison, Graduate student in Geophysics, Stanford
  • Francesca Grogan, PhD program in Mathematics and Computational Science in Mathematics and Engineering at UCSD
  • Michael Royston, PhD program in Mathematics at UCLA
  • Thomas Crawford, PhD program at Cambridge Univ. UK
  • Tawny Lim, PhD program in Mathematics at UCSB
  • Yazdi, Daniel, UCLA Medical School (MD) and Masters in Biomathematics
  • Chaturapruek, Sorathan "Tum", PhD program in Computer Science, Stanford
  • Jonathan Siegel, PhD program in Mathematics, UCLA
  • Brian de Silva, PhD program in Applied Mathematics, Univ. Washington
  • Ian Drayer, Masters in of Science in Mathematics Univ. of Connecticut
  • Ben Gross, PhD student in Applied Mathematics, Kozato Fellow, UCSB
  • Trevor Caldwell, PhD student in Applied Mathematics, Univ. Washington
  • Emily Beylerian, M. Sc. student in Applied Mathematics, Univ. Washington
  • Anna Ma, Joint PhD program in Computational Science, Claremont Graduate University and San Diego State University
  • Gilberto Urdaneta, UC Berkeley Masters in Chemical Engineering
  • Lucy Odom, San Francisco State University Masters in Mathematics
  • Yuxin Chen, PhD program in Applied Mathematics, Northwestern University
  • Peter Elliott, PhD program in Statistics, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Justin Sunu, PhD program in Computational Science, San Diego State University and Claremont Graduate University
  • Kun Dong, PhD program in Applied Mathematics, Cornell University
  • Garren Gaut, PhD program in Cognitive Science, UC Irvine, and Masters in Statistics UC Irvine
  • Saro Meguerdijian, Masters in Petroleum Engineering, USC

    Students who have gone on to industry

  • Emad Totari, Senior Analyst at 5th Street Capital, San Diego
  • Wylie Rosenthal, Optical Engineer, Giant Magellan Telescope Organization
  • Hannah Kastein, Engineer at Brand Gaus, Colorado Springs
  • Brendan Schneiderman, Analyst at Energy and Environmental Economics
  • Torin Gerhart, Senior Testing Engineer, Western Digital
  • Lauren Lieu, Applications Engineer at Intel Corporation, Portland Oregon
  • Daniel Barrow, Project Consultant at REAL Software Systems
  • Ryan de Vera, Senior Data Scientist - Marketing, at KIXEYE
  • Charlotte Willens, Software Engineer at Blend
  • Noah Webster, Software Developer at Epic
  • Wancen Jiang, Survey Manager, Gerson Lehrman Group, Hong Kong
  • Devin Bowers, Software Development Engineer in Test, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, Rockville, MD
  • Aparna Sarkar, Music Director at KSPC 88.7 FM Claremont