Research Mentors Summer 2011

Senior Faculty Oversight

  • Prof. Andrea Bertozzi, UCLA, Overall Program, robotics, microscopy, fluids, crime, networks
  • Prof. P. Jeffrey Brantingham, UCLA Anthropology, Crime models and networks
  • Prof. Manish Kumar, Univ. Cincinatti, Robotics
  • Prof. Gary Rosen, Chair of Mathematics USC
  • Prof. Joseph Teran, UCLA, Computer Graphics and Animation
  • Prof. Paul Weiss, Director California NanoSystems Institute, microscopy

    Research Group Mentors

  • Jen-mei Chang, Asst. Professor, Cal State Long Beach; Alex Chen, PhD Candidate Expected May 2011, imaging and microscopy
  • Jerome Gilles PhD, Robotic Testbed Swarms
  • Cymra Haskell PhD, Lecturer at USC, genotype evolution in e coli
  • Martin Short PhD and David Uminsky PhD, Crime Models
  • Tim Lucas, Asst. Prof Pepperdine, Plant ecology/population models
  • Matthew Mata PhD Candidate Expected May 2011, Slurry Flow Experiments and Models
  • Walter Rusin PhD, USC, Decentralized file systems with data migration
  • Jinsun Sohn PhD, Computer Animation and Graphics
  • Yves van Gennip PhD, network models

    GRE Math Subject Exam Preparation Course: Yao Yao instructor

    Student Participants

    Kim Louie (kym.louie@gmail.com), Harvey Mudd, crime modeling
    Ian Drayer, (idrayer@ucla.edu),UCLA,crime modeling
    Jiahui `Joy' Yu (jyu32@ucla.edu), UCLA, crime modeling
    Peter Elliott (pelliott14@ucla.edu), UCLA, networks
    Kyle Luh (Kyle_J_Luh@HMC.Edu), Harvey Mudd, networks
    Raymond Ahn (raymondjahn@gmail.com), CSULB, networks
    Paul Latterman (lattermanp@ucla.edu), UCLA, fluids
    Spencer Hill (spencerahill@gmail.com), UCLA, fluids
    Wylie Rosenthal (wnrosenthal@gmail.com), Harvey Mudd, fluids
    Paul David (pauldavi@usc.edu), USC, fluids
    Rodrigo Farnham (rfarnham@gmail.com), CSULB, microscopy
    Nen Huynh (darkshifter16@gmail.com), CSULB, microscopy
    Travis Meyer (euphopiab@gmail.com), UCLA, microscopy
    Shirley Zheng (sz239@cornell.edu), Cornell, Computational Fluids
    Trevor Caldwell (tcaldwell@hmc.edu), Harvey Mudd, Computational Fluids
    Noah Duncan (noah_duncan@hmc.edu), Harvey Mudd, Computational Fluids
    Tengyuan Liang (tengyuan0208@gmail.com), Peking University/UCLA, Computational Fluids
    Ryan Wilson (rynovia@ucla.edu), UCLA, robots
    Will Ferenc (wsferenc@gmail.com), Harvey Mudd, robots
    Hannah Kastein (hannah.kastein@gmail.com), Harvey Mudd, robots
    Lauren Lieu (Lauren_Lieu@HMC.Edu), Harvey Mudd, robots
    Garrett Johns (garrett.johns@pepperdine.edu), Pepperdine, plant ecology
    Wancen Jiang (wancen.jiang@pepperdine.edu), Pepperdine, plant ecology
    Yezhao Yang (yuezhaoyang9922@yahoo.com), Cal Poly Pomona, plant ecology
    Francesca Grogan (fcgrogan@yahoo.com), UCLA, population models
    Katja Goldring (robyweah@gmail.com), UCLA, population models
    Garren Gaut (ggaut@ucla.edu), UCLA, population models
    Kevin Varela-O'Hara (kvarelaohara@hmc.edu), Harvey Mudd, data storage networks
    Han Zou (hanzou@usc.edu), USC, data storage networks
    Gurpreet Bola (gbola@usc.edu), USC,data storage networks
    Michael Earnest (Mike_Earnest@HMC.Edu), Harvey Mudd, data storage networks

    Students who have gone to graduate school

    Ian Drayer, Masters in of Science in Mathematics Univ. of Connecticut
    Jiahui `Joy' Yu, PhD student U Mass Amherst, Mathematics
    Paul Latterman, Masters student in Bioengineering, UCLA
    Spencer Hill, PhD in Atmospheric and Ocean Sciences Princeton, NDSEG Fellow, currently NSF postdoc at UCLA in Atmospheric and Ocean Sciences, and future Caltech Foster and Coco Stanbeck Postdoctoral Fellow, Caltech
    Paul David, PhD student, Mathematics, Claremont Graduate Univeristy
    Travis Meyer, PhD in Mathematics, 2017, UCLA Applied Mathematics
    Tengyuan Liang, PhD in Statistics, Univ. of Penn.
    Ryan Wilson, Masters in Computational and Mathematical Engineering - Specilization in Computer Science- Stanford
    Francesca Grogan, PhD student UCSD Mathematics
    Kyle Luh, PhD in Mathematics, Yale, NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship 2017-2021
    Noah Duncan, PhD student in Computer Science, UCLA
    Han Zou, PhD student Industrial Engineering, USC
    Trevor Caldwell, PhD student in Applied Mathematics, Univ. Washington
    Michael Earnest, Graduate student in Mathematics at USC
    Garren Gaut, PhD program in Cognitive Science and Masters Program in Statistics, UC Irvine
    Peter Elliott, PhD program in Statistics, Carnegie Mellon University

    Students who have gone to industry

    Kym Louie, PredPol, Epic, Google (current)
    Rodrigo Farnham, Software Engineer, Snapchat, Inc.
    Shirley Zheng, Game Closure (gameclosure.com)
    Wylie Rosenthal, Optical Engineer, Giant Magellan Telescope Organization
    Ryan Wilson, Senior Software Engineer at Facebook
    Will Ferenc, Instrumentation Engineer, SpaceX
    Hannah Kastein, Engineer at Brand Gaus, Colorado Springs
    Lauren Lieu, Applications Engineer at Intel Corporation, Portland Oregon
    Garrett Johns, Private Equity Associate, Apollo Global Management LLC
    Wancen Jiang, Survey Manager, Gerson Lehrman Group, Hong Kong
    Kevin Varela-O'Hara, Software Engineer at Facebook
    Ian Drayer, Senior Actuarial Analyst, Cigna
    Katja Goldring, Professional Athlete